University of Salzburg: large educational institution in Salzburg

University of Salzburg, also known as Paris Lodron University named after its founder, the Prince Archbishop Paris Lodron, is located in the Austrian city of Salzburg, and is divided into four Faculties: Catholic theology, law, humanities and the natural sciences.

Salzburg University

Study international relations, art history, music, sociology, German language and more during a summer, semester or year abroad with AIFS in Salzburg, Austria.

By including your tuition, housing, meals, airfare and cultural activities in one guaranteed price, AIFS makes it simple for you to live and study in Salzburg and experience all that this baroque, alpine city has to offer.

The historic Alstadt is much the same as it was when Mozart lived here over 250 years ago. Use your AIFS meal allowance to enjoy cafes and restaurants throughout the city.

No previous German experience is required, as language courses are offered at all levels and there is a selection of courses taught in English for all AIFS students. Semester students with a working knowledge of German can apply to volunteer in the community.

En route to Salzburg, all students visit the exciting city of London. AIFS also offers excursions to Munich, Prague, Innsbruck and Vienna.

From Salzburg, you can easily reach the mountains, meadows and lakes of the Austrian Alps, see the Blue Danube, drift through the old world charms of Budapest or cross the Alps into the medieval villages and gentle hills of Northern Italy.

Center University of Salzburg

Due to its wonderful scenery, its many sites of historical importance and its music festivals Salzburg is one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Not only that: Salzburg is a university city with a tradition. In 1622 the university was founded by and named after Prince Archbishop Paris Lodron.

The University was initially built and maintained by a federation of Benedictine abbeys from Salzburg, Switzerland, Bavaria and Austria. In its early years, courses taught were theology, divinity, philosophy, law, and medicine.

As a result of the Napoleonic Wars, Salzburg University was secularized, with Prince Ferdinand, a brother of Emperor Franz I. of Austria, establishing a Faculty of Medicine.


After Bavaria annexed Salzburg in 1810, the university was closed on 24 December and replaced by a Lyzeum (akin to a polytechnic university). The Lyzeum had sections for divinity, philosophy, and medicine and surgery.

In 1816 Salzburg became part of the Austrian Empire again. Austria converted the divinity section to a Faculty and closed the Lyzeum in 1850.

The University of Salzburg was formally re-established in 1962 with a Faculty of Catholic Theology and a Faculty of Philosophy. Classes resumed in 1964, with a Faculty of Law added the following year.

Salzburg University

In 1975, a new federal law regulated the organisation of all Austrian universities. Salzburg University created four academic divisions: the Faculty of Catholic Theology, the Faculty of Law, the Faculty of Humanities, and the Faculty of Sciences. A fifth division, the Faculty of Medicine was not realized.

In 1995, the organisation of Austrian universities was further re-structured with more faculty autonomy. the university gradually incorporated new academic programs through 2004 into 32 «Fachbereiche» or departments; and again, decided not to create a Faculty of Medicine.


Salzburg University has no central campus, occupying several buildings in the Altstadt, former parts of the Residenz Palace, theToskanatrakt and in the Kapitelgasse.

The university library is between the Kollegienkirche (the University church) and the Festival Halls; attached to it is the «Große Aula», or ceremonial hall.

The traditional faculty building of Humanities (Communication Studies, Sociology and Political Science) is located by the Rudolfskai, only 100 metres from Mozartplatz and Papagenoplatz.

The Faculty of Sciences is housed in the second largest building in Salzburg after the Hohensalzburg Fortress, and is located just further south next to Schloss Freisaal Castle and Frohnburg Castle.

Completeted in 2011, the Unipark Nonntal (replacing the old location at the Akademiestraßenow) is home to the departments of modern languages, and cultural and social sciences. The building is 17,000 square metres in size, with 5500 students and 300 academic staff. There is a library and an Audimax.

Financing for the construction of the Unipark Nonntal was enabled by successful negotiations between Landeshauptmann Franz Schausberger and the ministry. Originally designed in 2002 by architects Storch Ehlers Partners and constructed in three years.

Today University of Salzburg comprises four faculties with 18,000 students and around 2,800 members of staff. It offers students a wide variety of subjects with a wellbalanced ratio between teaching staff and students.

The Paris Lodron University of Salzburg offers a total of 115 study programmes, some of which more recently in cooperation with other universities.

Bachelor degree course programmes, such as Engineering, held in cooperation with the Technical University of Munich or Law and Business have been introduced to meet new economic and social demands.

The master degree course «European Union Studies» is a new feature combining disciplines such as politics, history and law.

Students therefore now have the opportunity to obtain essential additional qualifications to meet the demands of an ever-changing employment market.

Quick Facts about University of Salzburg

University of Salzburg

  • founded in | 1622
  • number of teachers | 1,900
  • number of students | 18,000
  • percentage of foreign students | 34%

University of Salzburg — Faculties

  1. Catholic Theology
  2. Law
  3. Cultural and Social Sciences
  4. Natural Sciences


Within the University’s four faculties the four focus areas are: Life Sciences and Health; European Union Studies; Law, Economics and Business; and Arts and Humanities.

Additionally, the University maintains a broad spectrum of study fields and research areas that, as a series of Centres, work together within a wider research unit.

The Centres are smaller scientific organisational structures in which scientific areas are managed on a cross-disciplinary basis and are funded by third parties.

  • Embedded Software & Systems Research Centre (SRC)
  • Information and Communication Technologies & Society (ICT&S)
  • Interdisciplinary Centre for Medieval Studies
  • Centre for Geoinformatics Salzburg (ZGIS)
  • Centre for Jewish Culture History
  • Centre for Neurocognitive Research
  • Centre for Poverty Research
  • Centre for Language Research
  • Centre for Gastrosophy
  • Centre for Intercultural Theology and the Study of Religions
  • Stefan Zweig Centre Salzburg

Learn more:

4.7 (93.33%) 6 votes

Like this post? Please share to your friends:
Leave a Reply

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: